Learning & Development

At Austrey Preschool we follow the ‘Practice Guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage’ setting the standards for learning, development and care for children from 2-5 years. Our provision reflects the four key themes, six area of learning and sixteen commitments of the Early Years Foundation Stage.

A Unique Child

  1. Child development: A skilful communicator, competent learner.
  2. Inclusive Practice: Equality and diversity, children’s entitlements, early support.
  3. Keeping Safe: Being safe and protected, discovering boundaries, making choices.
  4. Health and Well-being: Growth and developing, physical and emotional wellbeing.

Positive Relationships

  1. Respecting each other: Understanding feelings, friendship, professional relationships.
  2. Parents as Partners: Respecting diversity, communication, learning together.
  3. Supporting Learning: Positive indicators, listening to children, effective teaching.
  4. Key Person: Secure attachment, shared care, independence.

Enabling Environments

  1. Observation, Assessment and Planning. Starting with the child, planning and assessment.
  2. Supporting every child: Children’s needs, the learning journey, working together.
  3. The Learning Environment: The emotional environment, the outdoor environment, the indoor environment.
  4. The Wider Context: Transitions and continuity, multi- agency working, the community.

Learning & Development

  1. Play and Exploration: Learning through experiences, adult involvement, contexts for learning.
  2. Active Learning: Mental and physical involvement, decision making, personalised learning.

Areas of Development and Learning
We prepare exciting, fun and challenging activities on a daily basis ensuring the needs of all the children are met. These activities will include the seven areas of learning.

Communication and language development involves giving children
opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their
confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a
range of situations

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to
be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and
movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of
physical activity6, and to make healthy choices in relation to food

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to
develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive
relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn
how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups;
and to have confidence in their own abilities

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters
and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range
of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and
improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating
simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces,
and measure

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their
physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe
and find out about people, places, technology and the environment

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play
with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and